Transitioning from JUnit to C Unit Testing in Embedded Development

Are there any projects that make C unit testing as easy as unit testing in Java with JUnit?

I worked on an embedded system written in C this summer, taking over an existing project. I’m used to writing unit tests in Java using JUnit, but I struggled with how to write unit tests for existing and new C code.

Any help around specific to embedded development, especially cross-compiling to arm-linux, would be greatly appreciated.

I have about five years of experience in C unit testing, particularly in embedded systems. One C unit testing framework that stands out is Check (Check | Unit testing framework for C). Here’s a list of other C unit testing frameworks:

1. AceUnit: Mimics JUnit 4.x with reflection-like capabilities. Suitable for embedded software with no standard library functions. AceUnit homepage.
  2. GNU Autounit: Similar to Check, uses GLib, and runs tests in a separate address space. GNU Autounit homepage.
  3. cUnit: Uses GLib but does not fork to protect the address space.
  4. CUnit: Standard C, with plans for a Win32 GUI. Does not fork. CUnit homepage.
  5. CuTest: Simple framework with one .c and one .h file. CuTest homepage.
  6. CppUnit: For C++, can test C code. Requires a C++ compiler. CppUnit homepage.
  7. embUnit: For embedded systems, superseded by AceUnit. Embedded Unit homepage.
  8. MinUnit: Minimal set of macros for unit testing. MinUnit homepage.
  9. CUnit for Mr. Ando: New implementation in early development. CUnit for Mr. Ando homepage.
  10. CMocka: Test framework for C with mock objects. CMocka homepage.
  11. Criterion: Cross-platform with support for multiple formats. Each test runs in its own process. Criterion homepage.
  12. HWUT: General unit test tool with support for C, can create Makefiles and generate test cases. HWUT homepage.
  13. CGreen: Modern framework for C and C++, includes BDD notation and a mocking library. CGreen homepage.