Selenium Module Import Issue on macOS

I’m writing a script to check a website using Selenium for the first time on my macOS system. Even though I verified that selenium-2.46.0-py2.7.egg is present in /Library/Python/2.7/site-packages, when I try to run the script, it reports that there is no module named Selenium available.

Here’s the error log I’m encountering:

Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/Users/GiulioColleluori/Desktop/Class_Checker.py", line 10, in <module>
    from selenium import webdriver
ImportError: No module named 'selenium'

I’m unsure why it’s not identify and why it’s telling me there is no module named Selenium despite it being installed. Any insights or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

I’ve been working with Selenium for several years, and I’ve encountered the “no module named Selenium” error a few times. Here’s a step-by-step solution that might help:

If you have pip installed, you can install Selenium by running:

pip install selenium

If you encounter permission issues, you may need to use sudo:

sudo pip install selenium

For Python 3, you can install Selenium with pip3:

sudo pip3 install selenium

In comparison to easy_install, pip is considered a more reliable package installer and was designed to improve upon easy_install’s shortcomings.

When starting new projects, especially involving Selenium or other dependencies, creating and using virtual environments is recommended. Virtual environments help isolate project dependencies and prevent conflicts.

I’ve got a solid background in resolving these kinds of issues, and I’ve seen the “no module named Selenium” error pop up frequently. If pip install commands aren’t working due to permission issues, a solution that often works is using:

sudo -H pip3 install -U selenium